Business Management

How to Open a Business Bank Account in Canada Online (2026)

How to Open a Business Bank Account in Canada Online (2026)

Disclosure: this post contains affiliate links. If you sign up through one, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend tools we use with our own clients.

Quick Answer

How do you open a business bank account in Canada online?

Register or incorporate first, then apply with proof the business exists (articles of incorporation, or the business name registration for a sole proprietorship), government photo ID for every owner at 25% or more and every signer, and your CRA business number if you have one. Venn ($0 a month, CDIC-eligible via Bank of Montreal, usually open within 24 hours, not in Quebec), Airwallex ($0, licensed in Quebec, 1 to 3 days), Loop and Wise open fully online. RBC issues an account number online in under 15 minutes but needs a branch visit to activate; the other Big 5 work by appointment. Verified at each provider, September 2026.

At a Glance

DocumentsArticles or business registration, photo ID for 25%+ owners and signers, CRA business number if you have one
Fully onlineVenn (24 hours, $0), Airwallex (1 to 3 days, $0, Quebec), Loop, Wise (55 CAD once)
BanksRBC: online number in 15 minutes, branch to activate; TD, BMO, Scotia, CIBC by appointment
Our defaultVenn for incorporated businesses outside Quebec; add a bank for cash, cheques or lending

Opening a business bank account in Canada takes fifteen minutes online at a fintech and an appointment plus a week at a Big 5 branch, and the paperwork is the same either way: proof the business exists, government ID for the people behind it, and a CRA business number if you have one. This guide is the order to do it in, exactly what each institution asks for, which ones open fully online, and what a CPA who onboards new companies every month tells clients to pick. Every fee and requirement below comes from the provider's own pages, checked in September 2026.

Published May 2026, updated September 2026. Requirements verified at RBC, Venn, Airwallex, Wise and Loop, and the business-number rules at canada.ca, on 2 September 2026.

Open the account we recommend to new Canadian businesses

Venn opens online in minutes for corporations and registered sole proprietors: $0 a month, CAD, USD, GBP and EUR, a US-domiciled USD account for ACH, 0.45% FX, 2% interest, a no-guarantee charge card, and balances at Bank of Montreal with CDIC eligibility. Outside Quebec. New accounts earn up to $500 through our link.

The Short Answer

Register or incorporate first, then apply. A corporation applies with its articles of incorporation; a sole proprietorship or partnership applies with its business name registration (the Master Business Licence in Ontario, the equivalent elsewhere). Every person who owns 25% or more or who will sign on the account shows government photo ID. Fully online, no branch: Venn ($0 a month, CDIC-eligible via Bank of Montreal, usually live within 24 hours, not in Quebec), Airwallex ($0, 20-plus currencies, 1 to 3 business days, licensed in Quebec), Loop ($0) and Wise Business (one-time 55 CAD). Online start, branch finish: RBC lets a sole proprietor or single-owner corporation apply online and get an account number in under 15 minutes, then requires a branch visit to verify identity and activate. The other Big 5 work by appointment. For most incorporated businesses outside Quebec we open Venn first and add a bank later if cash, cheques or lending come into play.

What You Need to Open a Business Bank Account

Business typeBusiness documentsPersonal IDCRA business number
Sole proprietorshipBusiness name registration (Master Business Licence in Ontario) if you trade under a name other than your own; nothing else if you trade under your legal nameGovernment photo ID for the owner; the Big 5 typically want two pieces, fintechs oneNot required unless you have a GST/HST, payroll or import account; the CRA issues one when you register for any of those
PartnershipPartnership registration and, where one exists, the partnership agreementID for each partner who owns 25% or more and each signerSame rule as a sole proprietorship
CorporationArticles or certificate of incorporation; RBC also asks for a certificate of existence; the register of directors and shareholdersID for every owner at 25% or more and every signing officerAssigned at incorporation in most provinces; every provider asks for the nine digits

Two rules apply everywhere because they come from Canada's anti-money-laundering regime rather than any one bank: the institution must identify every beneficial owner at 25% or more, and it must record what the business does and roughly how much money will move through the account. Have a one-sentence description and a monthly volume estimate ready. RBC's own list for corporations is articles of incorporation, a certificate of existence and one piece of Canadian government photo ID per signer; Venn's is "Articles of Incorporation with listed directors or Master Business Licence", the CRA business number and government ID for each authorised user.

Which Accounts Open Fully Online

ProviderHow you open itTime to a working accountMonthly feeDeposit protection
VennFully online; corporations and registered sole proprietors; not QuebecApplication in minutes; most businesses onboarded within 24 hours$0 (Essentials)Held at Bank of Montreal, CDIC-eligible
AirwallexFully online; corporations and sole proprietors; licensed in Quebec15-minute application; 1 to 3 business days$0 (Explore)Safeguarded funds, not CDIC
LoopFully onlineMinutes to apply$0 (Basic)USD accounts at Lincoln Savings Bank (FDIC); CAD custody not stated
Wise BusinessFully onlineDays; up to 10 business days for complex ownership$0 after 55 CAD one-timeSafeguarded funds, not CDIC
RBCOnline application for sole proprietors and single-owner corporations, then a branch visit to verify identity and activateAccount number in under 15 minutes; working after the branch visit$6 Digital Choice; $7 Flex Choice; $100 Ultimate, waived above $75,000CDIC
TD, BMO, Scotiabank, CIBCBranch appointment; some allow an online pre-applicationTypically one to two weeks including the appointmentTiered plans; check each fee scheduleCDIC

How to Open a Business Bank Account in Canada, Step by Step

  1. Register or incorporate the business. Sole proprietors trading under a name register it with their province; corporations file articles. Ownr does either online in Ontario, BC, Alberta or federally, and an Ownr incorporation can be paired with an RBC account within 60 days for RBC's cash-back offer; see our Ownr deal page. Not sure which structure? Read how to start accounting for a new business in Canada first.
  2. Get the CRA business number if you need one. Corporations receive one at incorporation in most provinces. A sole proprietor only needs one when registering for GST/HST (mandatory past $30,000 of revenue in four consecutive quarters), payroll or import accounts, and the CRA issues it with that registration. Fintechs ask for it if it exists; it is not a barrier to opening the account.
  3. Choose the account for how your money moves. CAD only with cash or cheques: a Big 5 account. Online business with USD customers or suppliers: Venn, or Airwallex if you touch more than four currencies or are in Quebec. Card-heavy spending in foreign currencies: Loop. Our business banking comparison puts fees and FX side by side.
  4. Apply with the documents above. Online providers verify identity by document upload and a selfie match; RBC issues an account number online and then books the branch visit; the other banks book the appointment first.
  5. Fund it and connect the ledger. Move the opening deposit by e-transfer or EFT from a personal account, then connect the account to Xero or QuickBooks so the bank feed starts on day one. Venn and Airwallex connect directly; the banks connect through the accounting software's feed.
  6. Order cards and set signing rules. Fintechs issue virtual cards immediately and physical ones within days; banks issue a client card at the branch and corporate cards on a separate application. Set who can approve payments before the first bill arrives.

Which Business Bank Account Should You Open?

For an incorporated Canadian business outside Quebec that runs online, Venn is our default: $0 a month, CAD, USD, GBP and EUR, a US-domiciled USD account so American customers pay by ACH, FX at 0.45% against a typical 2.5% bank spread, 2% interest on balances, a no-guarantee charge card with 1% cashback, and balances held at Bank of Montreal with CDIC eligibility. New accounts earn up to $500 through our link. If the business is in Quebec, deals in more than four currencies, or pays overseas suppliers, Airwallex is the pick on a $0 plan. If you deposit cash or cheques or need a line of credit, open the Big 5 account and, in most cases, keep the fintech account beside it for the FX. The full breakdown by fees, FX and features is in our ranking of the best business bank accounts in Canada.

Do Sole Proprietors Need a Separate Business Account?

No law requires it, and a sole proprietor trading under their own name can legally run the business through a personal account. We still recommend a separate account from the first invoice: the CRA expects business income and expenses to be traceable, mixing them makes bookkeeping slower and audits harder, and a separate account makes GST/HST tracking trivial once you cross the $30,000 threshold. Venn accepts registered sole proprietorships, Airwallex documents sole proprietors, and RBC opens sole-proprietor accounts online with a branch visit to activate. Our sole-proprietor business bank account guide covers the registration and tax side.

How to Get a Debit Card for Your Business

Every account on this page comes with a card, but they are different animals. A Big 5 account issues a business client card at the branch, tied to the chequing account, with Interac debit. Venn issues a Mastercard charge card with no personal guarantee; Airwallex and Loop issue Visa cards, virtual within minutes and physical within days, with per-card spending limits and receipt capture built in. If the goal is a card for a second person on the team, the fintechs are faster and cheaper; if the goal is Interac debit at a till, only the bank card does it.

How Long It Takes

Venn says most businesses complete onboarding within 24 hours; Airwallex says 1 to 3 business days; Wise up to 10 business days where ownership is complex; RBC issues an account number in under 15 minutes online but the account works only after the branch visit; the other Big 5 usually take one to two weeks including the appointment. The slowest part everywhere is a missing document, so gather the articles, the registration and everyone's ID before you start.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can you open a business bank account online in Canada?
Yes. Venn, Airwallex, Loop and Wise Business open fully online with no branch visit. RBC lets sole proprietors and single-owner corporations apply online and receive an account number in under 15 minutes, but requires a branch visit to verify identity and activate. TD, BMO, Scotiabank and CIBC work by branch appointment.
What do you need to open a business bank account in Canada?
Proof the business exists (articles of incorporation for a corporation; the business name registration for a sole proprietorship or partnership), government photo ID for every owner at 25% or more and every signer, a CRA business number if you have one, and a description of the business with an estimate of monthly volumes. RBC also asks corporations for a certificate of existence.
Do I need a CRA business number to open a business bank account?
Corporations have one from incorporation and every provider asks for it. A sole proprietor only needs a business number when registering for a GST/HST, payroll or import account, and the CRA issues it with that registration; you can open the account without one.
Can anyone open a business bank account?
Any registered Canadian business can, subject to the institution's identity and anti-money-laundering checks. Sole proprietors, partnerships and corporations all qualify at the Big 5 and at Venn; Airwallex documents corporations and sole proprietors; Ramp, by contrast, takes corporations only. Non-residents can open through a Canadian corporation; see our non-resident guide.
How much does a business bank account cost in Canada?
Venn, Airwallex and Loop charge no monthly fee on their base plans; Wise Business charges a one-time 55 CAD. RBC's business chequing accounts run from $6 a month (Digital Choice) to $100 (Ultimate, waived above a $75,000 balance), and the other Big 5 use similar tiers. The larger cost is usually foreign exchange: about 2.5% at a bank against 0.45% at Venn or 0.5% at Airwallex.
Are fintech business accounts safe?
Venn holds balances at Bank of Montreal, a CDIC member, so deposits are CDIC-eligible. Airwallex and Wise are FINTRAC-registered money services businesses that safeguard client funds separately from their own but are not CDIC-insured. Loop's USD accounts sit at an FDIC bank; it does not state where CAD balances are held. None is itself a bank, which is why cash, cheques and lending still need a Big 5 relationship.
How long does it take to open a business bank account?
Minutes to apply and within 24 hours to open at Venn; 1 to 3 business days at Airwallex; up to 10 business days at Wise for complex ownership; under 15 minutes for an RBC account number online plus a branch visit to activate; one to two weeks at the other Big 5 including the appointment.
Can I open a business bank account in Quebec online?
Airwallex and Wise Business both hold Revenu Québec money-services-business licences and open online for Quebec companies. Venn states it is not available to Quebec businesses, and Ramp excludes Quebec as well. The Big 5 serve Quebec through branches.

Want the account, the ledger and the GST/HST setup done together? Ask us, or compare every option in the Canadian business banking comparison.

Sebastien Prost, CPA, Founder of LedgerLogic
Written By

Sebastien ProstCPA, Ex-CRA

Licensed CPA with 10+ years of experience, including work with the Canada Revenue Agency. Founder of LedgerLogic, a cloud accounting firm serving Canadian SMEs. Xero Certified Advisor.