CPA-verified pricing

Best accounting software in Canada: every plan, every price, six platforms compared

Xero, QuickBooks Online, FreshBooks, Wave, Sage and Zoho Books, with plan prices, user limits, bank feeds, GST/HST handling, multi-currency, payroll and receipt capture read from each vendor’s Canadian pricing page, most recently on Oct 8 2026. Then the pick for the business you actually run, and what year one really costs.

What is the best accounting software for a small business in Canada?

It depends on how many people log in and who keeps the books. For up to three people, QuickBooks Online is the cheaper full ledger in year one through our partner links: Essentials ($70 a month, 3 users plus your accountant, bills and multi-currency) is $392 for the first year at 80% off for 8 months, against $432 for Xero Standard; a two-person team that stays within Xero Starter's limits (20 invoices and quotes and 5 bills a month) pays $180 on Starter, or $240 with the $5 a month auto-reconcile add-on. For four or more people, pick Xero ($25, $60 or $80 a month, unlimited users on every plan, 80% off for 6 months through our link), which is also the cheaper of the two from year two. QuickBooks Online is the pick for inventory (Plus, $110) and payroll in the same login; FreshBooks (Lite $26, or $1 a month for the first year through our link under FreshBooks's own promotion) for freelancers who mostly invoice. Wave Pro is $25; Zoho Books is free under C$50,000 of revenue and $20 a month after; Sage starts at $23. None of the six files your GST/HST return for you, they give you the figures.

Prices read at each vendor, most recently on Oct 8 2026
Ranked by fit for the reader, never by commission
Written by Sebastien Prost, CPA, who keeps client books on these platforms

How much does accounting software cost in Canada? Every plan, line by line

Prices are CAD, monthly, before tax, read at each vendor: Xero, QuickBooks Online and FreshBooks on Oct 8 2026, Wave on Sep 20 2026, and Sage and Zoho Books on Sep 5 2026. Bank feeds means the software pulls your bank and card transactions in for reconciliation, which is the feature that separates a ledger from a spreadsheet. GST/HST means how the tool tracks and reports sales tax; none of the six files the return for you, you submit the figures to the CRA (and to Revenu Québec for QST).

Rows run in order of how many of the 9 situations in the picker above each platform is the pick for: QuickBooks Online 5, Xero 2, FreshBooks 1, Zoho Books 1, Wave 0, Sage 0.

  1. Users
    Lite and EasyStart 1; Essentials 3, Plus 5, Advanced 25free accountant seat, except on Lite
    Bank feeds
    All plans
    Multi-currency
    From Essentials, $70
    Offer
    80% off for 8 months, new customers, EasyStart and up
    All details for QuickBooks Online
    From
    $20 a month (Lite)
    Plans (CAD, monthly)
    Lite $20, EasyStart $30, Essentials $70, Plus $110, Advanced $220
    Users
    Lite 1, EasyStart 1, Essentials 3, Plus 5, Advanced 25, plus a free accountant seat on every plan except Lite
    Bank feeds
    All plans
    GST/HST
    Tracked and reported; Sales Tax AI flags errors; you file with the CRA
    Multi-currency
    Essentials, Plus and Advanced
    Payroll
    QuickBooks Payroll add-on; remits to CRA and Revenu Quebec
    Receipt capture
    Receipt capture included
    Offer
    80% off for 8 months through our link, for new QuickBooks customers and Canadian businesses on EasyStart, Essentials, Plus or Advanced; Lite and QuickBooks Payroll are not discounted

    Verified Oct 8 2026 at the vendor’s pricing page.

    Read the QuickBooks Online verdict
  2. Users
    Unlimited on every plan
    Bank feeds
    All plans
    Multi-currency
    Premium, $80
    Offer
    80% off for 6 months, new Xero organizations
    All details for Xero
    From
    $25 a month
    Plans (CAD, monthly)
    Starter $25, Standard $60, Premium $80
    Users
    Unlimited on every plan
    Bank feeds
    All plans
    GST/HST
    GST/HST, QST and provincial PST/RST returns prepared in Xero; you file them
    Multi-currency
    Premium
    Payroll
    None built in; Wagepoint syncs two-way
    Receipt capture
    Smart Document Capture (Hubdoc) included
    Offer
    80% off for 6 months through our link, for a new Xero organization on Starter, Standard or Premium

    Verified Oct 8 2026 at the vendor’s pricing page.

    Read the Xero verdict
  3. Users
    One; team members $13 each
    Bank feeds
    All plans
    Multi-currency
    Per-client invoice currency
    Offer
    Lite $1 a month for a year; FreshBooks says it ends October 14, 2026
    All details for FreshBooks
    From
    $1 a month (Lite, first year)
    Plans (CAD, monthly)
    Lite $26, Plus $42, Premium $72
    Users
    One; team members $13 each (Select includes 2)
    Bank feeds
    All plans
    GST/HST
    GST, HST, PST and QST on invoices; Sales Tax Summary report
    Multi-currency
    Per-client invoice currency; not stated on the pricing page
    Payroll
    PaymentEvolution partner add-on
    Receipt capture
    Expense and bill receipt scanning
    Offer
    Lite $1 a month for the first year, or 80% off Plus and Premium for 3 months through our link (FreshBooks's own September 2026 promotion, monthly billing; FreshBooks says it ends October 14, 2026)

    Verified Oct 8 2026 at the vendor’s pricing page.

    Read the FreshBooks verdict
  4. Users
    Free 1 plus an accountant; Standard 3extra users C$4 a month
    Bank feeds
    Standard and upfrom C$20
    Multi-currency
    Not confirmed
    Offer
    None
    All details for Zoho Books
    From
    Free (revenue under C$50K), then $20 a month
    Plans (CAD, monthly)
    Free; Standard C$20; Professional C$35; Premium C$50; Elite C$200; Ultimate C$350
    Users
    Free 1 + accountant; Standard 3; Professional 5; Premium 10; extra users C$4 a month
    Bank feeds
    Standard and up
    GST/HST
    Tracked and reported
    Multi-currency
    Not confirmed on the pricing page
    Payroll
    None in Canada
    Receipt capture
    Autoscan add-on, C$12 to C$15 per 50 scans
    Offer
    None

    Verified Sep 5 2026 at the vendor’s pricing page.

    Read the Zoho Books verdict
  5. Users
    Not stated
    Bank feeds
    Pro only$25 a month
    Multi-currency
    Not stated
    Offer
    None
    All details for Wave
    From
    $0 (Starter), $25 (Pro)
    Plans (CAD, monthly)
    Starter $0; Pro $25 CAD a month
    Users
    Not stated on the pricing page
    Bank feeds
    Pro only
    GST/HST
    Sales tax tracked on invoices and expenses; report for filing
    Multi-currency
    Not on the pricing page
    Payroll
    Wave Payroll add-on from $25; not in Quebec
    Receipt capture
    Pro plan (unlimited digital receipts)
    Offer
    None

    Verified Sep 20 2026 at the vendor’s pricing page.

    Read the Wave verdict
  6. Users
    Sage 50 Pro 1; Premium 2 or 4; Quantum 5+
    Bank feeds
    Sage 50 yesSage Accounting not confirmed
    Multi-currency
    Sage 50 Pro up to 2; higher tiers unlimited
    Offer
    Free first month on Sage's site
    All details for Sage
    From
    $23 a month
    Plans (CAD, monthly)
    Sage Accounting from $23; Sage 50 Pro from $23, Premium (2 or 4 users), Quantum (5+)
    Users
    Sage 50 Pro 1; Premium 2 or 4; Quantum 5+
    Bank feeds
    Sage 50 yes; Sage Accounting page could not be read today
    GST/HST
    Tracked and reported
    Multi-currency
    Sage 50 Pro up to 2; Premium and Quantum unlimited
    Payroll
    Sage Payroll add-on from $21
    Receipt capture
    AutoEntry add-on
    Offer
    Sage advertises a free first month on its site

    Verified Sep 5 2026 at the vendor’s pricing page.

    Read the Sage verdict
Xero’s public promotion is 80% off for 3 months. Our link opens Xero’s partner page for 80% off for 6 months: organizations new to Xero, Starter, Standard or Premium, no code, and you sign up with the form on that page (its free-trial button is a separate path). QuickBooks’ own site runs 90% off for 6 months, which also covers Lite and the payroll base fee; our QuickBooks link opens its partner page for 80% off for 8 months on EasyStart, Essentials, Plus or Advanced, for new customers and Canadian businesses, plan only, which costs less overall from month 7. Every plan, GST/HST, payroll and receipt capture are under All details on each row.
Price your first year

What will accounting software cost you in year one?

Choose the plan tier your business needs and how many people log in. Year-one totals use each vendor’s list price and apply the partner promotion where one exists, so Xero shows the 80% off for 6 months price you get through our link and QuickBooks Online the 80% off for 8 months price. QuickBooks Online moves up its plan ladder as people are added: EasyStart for one, Essentials to three, Plus to five, Advanced to 25.

Plan tier
2people logging in

CAD, before tax, plan and user fees only. Payroll, payments and add-ons are extra everywhere, except Xero’s Projects add-on on the Established tier, counted at its $10 a month minimum because the other ledgers priced at that tier include projects in the plan. Accountant access is not counted as a user. QuickBooks Lite (left out here, and not covered by our QuickBooks link) and FreshBooks Lite (the Starter row) give an accountant no access at all.

  1. Wave
    Wave
    $300/yr
    Verdict
    Pro plan, needed for bank feeds; Starter is $0 without them
  2. QuickBooks Online
    QuickBooks Online Essentials
    80% off for 8 months through our link
  3. Zoho Books logo
    Zoho Books
    $420/yr
    Verdict
    Standard, Professional or Premium; free under C$50K revenue
  4. Xero
    Xero
    80% off for 6 months through our link
  5. FreshBooks
    FreshBooks
    Lite $1/mo for a year, 80% off Plus/Premium for 3 months through our link (FreshBooks's own promotion); extra users at list price

No plan fits this tier and user count: Sage. Wave and Sage do not publish a plan at every tier.

What accounting software actually costs in year one

Three real businesses priced from each vendor's published plans, twelve months, CAD, before tax, cheapest first. Partner offers are applied to the plan price: QuickBooks Online 80% off for 8 months and Xero 80% off for 6 months through our links, FreshBooks under its own promotion; user fees and add-ons at list price. Intuit's own 90% off QuickBooks Online for 6 months costs more over a year on every plan our link covers, but it also covers Lite and the QuickBooks Payroll base fee.

Solo freelancer

One user, a few invoices a week, bank feeds wanted

  • FreshBooksFreshBooksLite at $1 a month for the first year; $312 at list; no accountant access$12/yr
  • QuickBooks OnlineQuickBooks OnlineEasyStart at 80% off for 8 months through our link; $360 at list. Lite, with no accountant access, is $132 on Intuit's own 90% off$168/yr
  • XeroXeroStarter; $300 at list; auto-reconcile is a $5 a month add-on$180/yr
  • Zoho Books logoZoho BooksStandard; $0 under C$50K revenue$240/yr
  • Sage 50Sagefrom $23 entry price$276/yr
  • WaveWavePro; Starter is $0 without feeds$300/yr

Service business, three people

Owner, bookkeeper and one staff login; unlimited invoices and bills

  • WaveWavePro; users not stated$300/yr
  • QuickBooks OnlineQuickBooks OnlineEssentials at 80% off for 8 months through our link, 3 users plus a free accountant seat; $840 at list and from year two$392/yr
  • Zoho Books logoZoho BooksProfessional, 5 users included$420/yr
  • XeroXeroStandard, unlimited users; $720 at list and from year two$432/yr
  • FreshBooksFreshBooksPlus at 80% off for 3 months, plus 2 team members at $13$715/yr

Established, multi-currency, five people

Foreign-currency sales, projects, deeper reporting

  • Zoho Books logoZoho BooksPremium, 10 users$600/yr
  • QuickBooks OnlineQuickBooks OnlinePlus at 80% off for 8 months through our link: 5 users, multi-currency and project profitability included; $1,320 at list$616/yr
  • XeroXeroPremium through our link ($576), unlimited users, plus the Projects add-on at its $10 a month minimum ($120); $1,080 at list$696/yr
  • FreshBooksFreshBooksPremium at 80% off for 3 months, plus 4 team members at $13$1,315/yr

At list price a three-person service business pays between $300 and $840 a year, or $1,320 if it needs QuickBooks Plus, and the gap is mostly user fees: QuickBooks caps users by plan and FreshBooks charges $13 per person, while Xero and Zoho include them. Through our links QuickBooks Essentials ($392) comes in $40 under Xero Standard ($432) in year one; from year two Xero is $120 a year cheaper ($720 against $840) and adds users at no charge, so over two years Xero is ahead by $80. Choose on who will keep the books and how many people will log in, not on the first-year price alone; a bookkeeper who has to export from a tool they do not like costs more than any subscription.

The questions people ask before they buy

Each one is answered in its first sentence, with the platform we would pick and the deal or comparison linked underneath. The prices are the ones in the index above, read at each vendor, most recently on Oct 8 2026.

How much does online bookkeeping software cost in Canada?

Between $0 and $220 a month at list price, and $25 to $70 a month for the plan a typical small business actually needs. List prices in CAD: QuickBooks Online Lite $20, EasyStart $30, Essentials $70 (multi-currency), Plus $110 and Advanced $220, with users capped at 1, 1, 3, 5 and 25; Xero Starter $25, Standard $60 and Premium $80 with unlimited users on every plan; FreshBooks Lite $26, Plus $42 and Premium $72, plus $13 a month per extra team member; Wave Starter $0 without bank feeds and Pro $25; Zoho Books free under C$50,000 of revenue, then C$20; Sage from $23. Partner offers cut year one: QuickBooks Online is 80% off for 8 months through our link for new Canadian customers (Essentials $14 a month, $392 for the year against $840), and Xero is 80% off for 6 months through our partner link (Standard $12 a month, $432 for the year against $720), and FreshBooks Lite is $1 a month for the first year through our link under FreshBooks's own September 2026 promotion ($12 for the year against $312). No code is needed for any of them. Payroll (QuickBooks Payroll, Sage Payroll from $21, Wave Payroll from $25, Wagepoint alongside Xero) and payment processing fees are extra everywhere.

Our two picks

QuickBooks Online or Xero: which one, for which business

Most Canadian small businesses end up choosing between these two full ledgers, and both pay us when you sign up through our links. What decides it is how many people need a login and how long you look ahead: for up to three people QuickBooks Online Essentials costs less in year one ($392 against $432 for Xero Standard through our links), and from year two Xero costs less ($720 a year against $840) and never charges per user.

QuickBooks Online
Our pick for up to three people, inventory and payroll in one login

QuickBooks Online

3 users plus your accountant on Essentials, inventory on Plus, payroll in the same login, and 80% off for 8 months through our link

QuickBooks Online is the cheaper full ledger in year one for up to three people through our links: Essentials is $14 a month for the first 8 months, $392 for the year against $432 for Xero Standard, with 3 users, a free seat for your accountant, bills and multi-currency. It is also the pick for inventory (Plus, 5 users), multi-currency on a small team, payroll in the same login, and any business whose accountant works in QuickBooks, because a file kept by someone who knows it matters more than any feature list. The trade is the user ladder: from year two Essentials is $840 against $720 for Xero Standard, and a fourth person means Plus at $110 a month.

What it does well
  • The most widely used accounting software in Canada, so almost every bookkeeper and accountant can work in it
  • Essentials covers 3 users plus a free accountant seat, bills and multi-currency at $70, $10 a month under Xero Premium for multi-currency
  • Real inventory tracking, class and location tracking and project profitability on Plus, with 5 users
  • QuickBooks Payroll sits inside the same login and remits to the CRA and Revenu Quebec
  • 80% off for 8 months through our partner link, two months longer than Xero's partner offer: Essentials is $14 a month for the first 8 months
Watch for
  • Users are capped by plan: one on EasyStart, three on Essentials, five on Plus; a team past five ends up on Advanced at $220
  • From year two a service team pays more than on Xero: Essentials is $840 a year against $720 for Xero Standard, and Plus at $110 is almost twice Xero Standard
  • Essentials ($70, 3 users) sits on its own page, off the main pricing grid, so the ladder most buyers see jumps from EasyStart at $30 to Plus at $110
  • EasyStart is one user with no bill management or time entry; a second person or bills means Essentials at $70 a month
Plans
Lite $20, EasyStart $30, Essentials $70, Plus $110, Advanced $220
Users
Lite 1, EasyStart 1, Essentials 3, Plus 5, Advanced 25, plus a free accountant seat on every plan except Lite
Payroll
QuickBooks Payroll add-on; remits to CRA and Revenu Quebec
Through our link
80% off for 8 months through our link, for new QuickBooks customers and Canadian businesses on EasyStart, Essentials, Plus or Advanced; Lite and QuickBooks Payroll are not discounted
Best for
Teams of up to three, product businesses with inventory, multi-currency on a small team, payroll in the same login, and anyone whose accountant works in QuickBooks
When it stops fitting
QuickBooks customers usually leave over the user caps and the Plus price once a service team passes three or five people. Xero Standard, unlimited users, at $60 a month.

Prices verified at the vendor’s Canadian pricing page.

Xero
Our pick for four or more people, and the lower cost from year two

Xero

unlimited users on every plan, the cleanest GST/HST workflow, and 80% off for 6 months through our link

Xero is the ledger we run our own firm and most client files on, and the reason is structural: unlimited users means the owner, the staff, the bookkeeper and the CPA all work in the same file for one price, and the bank reconciliation plus GST/HST workflow keeps the return figures right without heroics. It is the pick once four or more people need a login, and from year two it is the cheaper full ledger for a service team: Standard is $720 a year against $840 for QuickBooks Essentials. Through our partner link Standard is $12 a month for the first six months, $432 in year one against $720 at list.

What it does well
  • No per-user fees on any plan, so a fourth, fifth or tenth person, your bookkeeper and your accountant cost nothing extra
  • Smart Document Capture (Hubdoc) is included on Starter, Standard and Premium, so receipts and bills land in the ledger without a separate tool
  • Bank reconciliation and the GST/HST report are the cleanest we use across our own client base; Premium adds multi-currency
  • 80% off for 6 months through our partner link for a new Xero organization, against 3 months on xero.com
Watch for
  • Starter is capped at 20 invoices and quotes and 5 bills a month, auto-reconcile is a $5 a month add-on and there are no budgets; most real businesses need Standard at $60
  • No Canadian payroll module: you pair it with Wagepoint or another payroll tool
  • Expense claims and projects are paid add-ons (from $5 and $10 a month)
Plans
Starter $25, Standard $60, Premium $80
Users
Unlimited on every plan
Payroll
None built in; Wagepoint syncs two-way
Through our link
80% off for 6 months through our link, for a new Xero organization on Starter, Standard or Premium
Best for
Teams of four or more, a bookkeeper and a CPA both working in the file, and the lower cost from year two against QuickBooks
When it stops fitting
Inventory is basic; product businesses with real stock tracking usually land on QuickBooks Online Plus.

Prices verified at the vendor’s Canadian pricing page.

QuickBooks Online

QuickBooks Online: Our link does not discount Lite or QuickBooks Payroll; Intuit's own 90% off for 6 months covers both, so it is the cheaper route on Lite and usually when payroll runs from the first month.

Which accounting software is right for your situation? The other four, one by one

Each verdict says who the platform is genuinely for, what it costs, and where its customers go when it stops fitting.

FreshBooks

FreshBooks: the invoicing-first choice for freelancers, built in Toronto

Lite, Plus, Premium · Lite $26, Plus $42, Premium $72

FreshBooks is the right first accounting tool for a freelancer or a consultant who mostly sends invoices and tracks hours. It looks good, gets you paid, and handles GST, HST, PST and QST properly. The per-user model is the trade: once a bookkeeper and an accountant both need access, the price gap with Xero and QuickBooks closes and their ledgers are deeper. Right now the price gap runs the other way for a solo user: FreshBooks's own September 2026 promotion makes Lite $1 a month for the first year through our link, $12 for the year against $312 at list, and Plus and Premium are 80% off for 3 months; FreshBooks says the offer ends October 14, 2026.

Strengths
  • The best invoicing and time-tracking experience of the six, with Canadian sales taxes applied out of the box
  • Priced in CAD and built in Toronto; Lite $26, Plus $42, Premium $72
  • Proposals, estimates, retainers and client portals make it feel like a sales tool as much as a ledger
  • Lite $1 a month for the first year, or 80% off Plus and Premium for 3 months through our link: FreshBooks's own September 2026 promotion, monthly billing, applied at checkout with no code; FreshBooks's pricing page says it ends October 14, 2026
Watch for
  • Every plan is one user and each team member is $13 a month, so a team of three on Plus pays $68 a month; accountant access is included from Plus
  • Lite caps you at 5 billable clients and has no accountant access or bank reconciliation; Plus allows 50 clients
  • Thinner reporting and general-ledger control than Xero or QuickBooks; accountants often ask for exports
  • Businesses with staff, inventory or multi-province sales tend to outgrow it
Xero
Outgrowing FreshBooks?

FreshBooks users move when they hire staff, add inventory or want an accountant living in the file. Xero when it is more people in the file; QuickBooks Online Plus when it is inventory or payroll.

Zoho Books logo

Zoho Books: free under C$50,000 of revenue, and the cheapest paid ledger with real depth

Free, Standard, Professional, Premium · Free; Standard C$20; Professional C$35; Premium C$50; Elite C$200; Ultimate C$350

Zoho Books is the honest budget answer: a real double-entry ledger that is free for a micro-business and C$20 for a small one, with more depth per dollar than anyone else on this page. What it lacks is a Canadian accountant network, so it suits owners who do their own books or already run on Zoho.

Strengths
  • The free plan is real: invoices, expenses, journals and reports for one user plus an accountant while revenue stays under C$50,000
  • Standard at C$20 with three users undercuts every paid competitor here
  • Projects, inventory tracking and purchase orders arrive on Professional at C$35
  • Deep automation and a suite (CRM, inventory, expenses) if you already live in Zoho
Watch for
  • Bank feeds and the accountant workflow need the Standard plan or higher
  • Very few Canadian bookkeepers work in it, so you may be teaching your accountant
  • No Canadian payroll
  • The free plan ends when revenue crosses C$50,000 in a financial year
QuickBooks Online
Outgrowing Zoho Books?

Zoho Books users leave when they hire a bookkeeper who does not know it. QuickBooks Online or Xero, the two ledgers most Canadian bookkeepers work in.

Wave

Wave: free until you want bank feeds, then $25 a month

Starter and Pro · Starter $0; Pro $25 CAD a month

Wave was the free answer for a decade and Starter still is, as long as you accept typing transactions in by hand. The moment you want bank feeds you are paying $25, which is Xero Starter money and close to QuickBooks EasyStart, and at that price their ledgers and accountant fit win. Use Wave Starter when the business is tiny and the bookkeeping is a few invoices a month.

Strengths
  • Starter is genuinely $0 for unlimited invoices, estimates, bills and bookkeeping records
  • Pro at $25 adds automatic bank imports, categorisation and unlimited receipt capture
  • Card payments on Pro waive the $0.60 per-transaction fee for the first ten transactions a month
  • Payroll and bookkeeping (Wave Advisors) are available as add-ons if you want one vendor
Watch for
  • Bank feeds, the feature that makes accounting software worth having, moved behind the $25 Pro plan in 2026
  • Wave Payroll is not available in Quebec
  • Thinner reporting, no projects, and fewer integrations than Xero or QuickBooks
  • Accountants tolerate it more than they like it; expect to export when you grow
Xero
Outgrowing Wave?

Wave users leave when bank feeds start costing $25 and the accountant asks for a real ledger. Xero Starter at $25, or Standard at $60 with unlimited invoices.

Sage 50

Sage: the desktop incumbent, from $23 a month

Sage Accounting (cloud) and Sage 50 (desktop) · Sage Accounting from $23; Sage 50 Pro from $23, Premium (2 or 4 users), Quantum (5+)

Sage 50 is the file we are most often asked to migrate away from, which tells you where it sits: solid, familiar, and increasingly out of step with a bookkeeper who wants bank feeds, app integrations and a browser. If you are on it and it works, there is no urgency. If you are choosing today, start in the cloud.

Strengths
  • Sage 50 remains a capable desktop ledger for inventory, job costing and multi-location stock
  • Sage Accounting (cloud) starts at $23 and Sage Payroll at $21, both in CAD
  • Multi-currency and FIFO inventory on the higher Sage 50 tiers
  • A large installed base of Canadian bookkeepers who know it
Watch for
  • Sage 50 is desktop software with remote access bolted on; the cloud product is a different, lighter ledger
  • Sage's Canadian pricing pages block automated reads and bury tier prices behind a quote flow, so budgeting from a table is hard
  • Bank feed and app ecosystem are behind Xero and QuickBooks
  • Most of the Sage 50 files we see are being migrated to the cloud, not renewed
Xero
Outgrowing Sage?

Sage 50 users move when the annual renewal lands or the bookkeeper wants a browser and bank feeds. Xero for a service business, where our Sage 50 to Xero migration guide covers the conversion; QuickBooks Online Plus if inventory and job costing kept you on Sage 50.

How this comparison was built

Every price was read at the vendor's Canadian pricing page, linked under each verdict: Xero, FreshBooks and Wave on Sep 20 2026; Xero's plans and partner-offer terms and QuickBooks Online's plans and Buy Now offer again on Sep 26 2026; and Xero, QuickBooks Online and FreshBooks again on Oct 8 2026. Sage and Zoho Books carry the Sep 5 2026 read, and Sage's pricing pages block automated reads outright. We run LedgerLogic and most client files on Xero, keep client books in QuickBooks Online when their accountant requires it, and have migrated Sage 50 files, which is where the bank-feed, GST/HST and user claims were checked against daily use rather than feature lists. There is no house pick: each situation in the picker is decided by the features the business needs, how many people log in, and year-one cost through our links, and says so where year two flips the order. Rows run in order of how many of the 9 situations in the picker above each platform is the pick for: QuickBooks Online 5, Xero 2, FreshBooks 1, Zoho Books 1, Wave 0, Sage 0. Year-one costs are twelve months at list with each offer applied to the plan price only: QuickBooks Online and Xero through our partner links, FreshBooks under its own promotion; where Intuit's own 90% off is the cheaper route (Lite, and payroll from the first month) the page says so. The QuickBooks partner offer (read Oct 2 2026 on the partner page our link opens) has no end date; the FreshBooks promotion drops off this page automatically after the end date FreshBooks states. Xero, QuickBooks and FreshBooks pay us when you sign up through our links; Wave, Sage and Zoho do not.

16 questions Canadian owners ask about accounting software

The bottom line

Buy the ledger your bookkeeper can live in, then pay as little as possible for it

Pick the ledger the person keeping your books wants to live in, then pay as little as possible for it. Through our partner links QuickBooks Online is the cheaper full ledger in year one for up to three people: Essentials is $392 for the first year against $432 for Xero Standard, and QuickBooks is also the pick for inventory, multi-currency on a small team and payroll in the same login. Xero is the pick for four or more people and costs less from year two ($720 a year for Standard against $840 for Essentials), with unlimited users on every plan. Choose FreshBooks when invoicing is the whole job, Zoho Books or Wave Starter when the budget is zero, and treat Sage 50 as something to migrate from rather than into.

Sebastien Prost, CPA. Prices verified at each vendor, most recently on Oct 8 2026. Xero, QuickBooks and FreshBooks pay us when you sign up through our links; Wave, Sage and Zoho do not. Each pick follows the business described.